Makeup to Help Me Look and Feel Better

I’ve spent the majority of the bank holiday weekend tucked up in bed feeling sorry for myself because I’ve come down with tonsillitis! After being unwell twice in the same month, I began to feel a bit unattractive and down about myself. I’ve been living in my pyjamas, without any makeup on, and I am tired of it! So today I woke up and felt soo much better and I decided to spend some time making myself look and feel better.

First things first:

I had a lovely long shower and washed my hair to feel fresh and alive after being wrapped up under the duvet. I then cleansed my face, used a toner and applied my moisturiser.

On to the Makeup:

I wanted something to make me look more ALIVE and AWAKE so I went for a glowy foundation. I used the Rimmel Lasting Finish foundation which, for me, appears glowy on the skin. However, it is marketed as a full-coverage foundation so if you’re not oily like me, maybe try something else to give you a glow. I then chose to brighten my under-eye area by using the Rimmel Wake Me Up concealer, mixed with the Body Shop Lightening Drops. I also popped some of this on the bridge of my nose, chin and forehead to give an overall brighter complexion.

DSC_0004

Next, I needed to beef out those brows!! I think the brows make a huge difference and can really help to make you look more awake. I used the Body Shop Brow Kit, as always! Next, after feeling poorly and looking like Caspar the Friendly Ghost, needed a bit of colour in my face! I contoured using the Primark Contour Kit and I added blush, using my favourite Revlon Blush in ‘Haute Pink’. And I slowly began to look more like a member of the living…

DSC_0015

AND FINALLY, I moved onto the eyes! When I don’t have eye makeup on, I feel like my lashes disappear altogether, even though I have quite long lashes. This has the effect of making my eyes look smaller so I wanted my eye makeup to bring my eyes out a bit. I decided to go for a subtle shadow from the Too Faced Chocolate Bar palette. I swept ‘Champagne Truffle’ all over the lid and then defined the crease a bit using ‘Marzipan’ from the same palette. To bring my eyes out a bit more, I wanted a nice winged liner. I dipped into my Maybelline Gel Liner pot in the brown shade. I decided to use brown because it would appear less harsh than a black winged eyeliner. The effect of the liner is that it elongates my eyes and makes them appear bigger. Of course, to finish off, I applied lots of my Maybelline Colossal Lash Leather Black mascara.

DSC_0037

DSC_0033

Finishing Touches…

To finish everything off, I applied some Clinique lipstick in ‘Nude Pop’. This nice subtle shade gives a healthy glow to the lips and seems to brighten the whole face. I love it! Then, I dried my hair and straightened it to give a simple, hassle-free finish.

DSC_0041

The Result?

After feeling horrible for a few days and feeling down about my appearance, it was wonderful to spend some time on myself and make myself look and feel more awake and healthy! Sometimes makeup is a wonderfully therapeutic thing!

DSC_0043

I hope you all enjoyed your long weekend!

Lots of love,

Amy xxx

4 Comments Add yours

  1. EMILY ROSE says:

    Hey hunni, I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award! 😊 https://emilyr0se.com

    Like

    1. asomersday says:

      Thank you! xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. JJheartblog says:

    Found you through Emily Rose’s Liebster nomination. Congrats on the award! I like your makeup look!

    Like

    1. asomersday says:

      aw thank you lovely!! Thanks for checking out my blog xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

