NEW: L’Oreal Paris Nude Magique Cushion Foundation (Review)

There’s been a lot of hype around cushion foundations recently, so when L’Oreal released an affordable version I thought I’d get my hands on it and test it out!! I’ve been wearing it for over a week so that I can give my honest opinion.

The Price:

This foundation is normally around the £15.00 mark, so affordable but a little bit more expensive than other drugstore foundations. However, at the moment it is selling for £9.99 as an introductory price at Boots so if you want to try it, grab it now!

The Packaging:

The first thing that I noticed about this foundation was the stunning packaging. The foundation comes in a cute little lilac compact. When you open it up, you notice a little round sponge applicator and a nice circle mirror. When you remove the sponge and open up the second layer, you notice that the foundation is soaked into a funny little cushion.To dispense the foundation, you simply press the sponge applicator onto the cushion! The packaging is really nifty and amazing for travel- a nice mirror and no mess with exploding liquid foundations!

DSC_0003

How does it apply?

The number one selling point for me is that it blends like an absolute dream! The first time I used this foundation, I couldn’t quite believe how easily it blended. Normally I don’t like to use brushes or sponges included with a product, but the sponge worked fine! There were no lines, no unevenness…just perfect! The only negative about using the sponge as an applicator is that it will get grubby quickly, so I would still recommend using a beauty blender. I have tried using a brush, but I find that barely any of the product transfers from the cushion. It’s all about the sponges people!

DSC_0002

How does it wear?

The foundation is marketed as a dewy foundation and it definitely is just that. It adds a gorgeous subtle glow to the skin and I think people with dry skin will love this. I have oily skin but I will still be wearing this during the summer for a nice light coverage foundation. Although the coverage is light, you can still build it up to a medium coverage.

I wore this foundation a few times when I was at work for a very long day. I have to admit that at the end of the day, I did notice that the foundation seemed to exaggerate all of the little tiny bumps and pores on my face. I don’t know if this is just because I have oily skin, however. For me, this foundation will be for chilled summer days when I’m not expecting to wear it all day long.

What’s the deal with the cushion?

When I first heard about cushion foundations, my first thought was, ‘what difference does the cushion make?’ I have to admit that I’m still wondering the same thing. I think the same lovely glowy foundation could be put in a bottle and it would have the same effect. I also wonder how long the foundation will last: surely we’re getting less product because it’s soaked into a cushion? The positive, I guess, is that you’re less likely to accidentally use too much foundation and end up wasting it. Another positive is that, as I mentioned earlier, the cushion means that this will be perfect for travel. However, I still can’t help but think that the cushion is a bit of a gimmick.

DSC_0004

Worth buying?

Yes! I think this foundation is definitely worth buying if you like a glowy, dewy foundation. It’s also great as a compact for travel and it’s perfect for the summer. However, there are definitely negatives. I think this foundation could end up being an expensive one with it’s usual price of £15.00, especially if the product is quickly used up.

What do you think??

Amy xxx

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. beautybygigi says:

    I’m posting a makeup tutorial in a day or so using this foundation! I’ve been loving it 🙂 I agree with you that it blends so easily. I love the fact that it’s dewy yet still gives good coverage! great review xx

    Like

    1. asomersday says:

      oh awesome, I will look out for it 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have been debating whether to buy this foundation and I think your review has swayed me to buy it! I have just followed, I would over if you could take a look at my blog https://nervousfakelaughter.wordpress.com/

    Like

    1. asomersday says:

      oh brilliant! I hope you like it. I’ll check your blog out xx

      Like

  3. Great review!! I haven’t tried this foundation yet but I love the packaging! I have oily skin as well so we will see how it works on me! 🙂

    JennyLovesBeauty♥

    Like

    1. asomersday says:

      Thank you!! Thanks for reading xx

      Like

  4. itsheyjune says:

    I like cushions because it helps control how much you’re getting onto your face and I feel that when I use cushion foundations/CC creams it makes a more feathery texture on the face. I had a BanilaCo CC cushion and when I ran out of product, I pulled out the sponge, put some more CC cream of the same brand in, and kept using it lol. Lovely post!

    Like

    1. asomersday says:

      Yes that is definitely the benefit of having a cushion! I usually end up wasting some liquid foundation because the pump dispenses too much. Thank you 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

